#RockingMotherhood Challenge

When I got a message from Haley at Foxfairytwins asking if I would be interested in taking part in a blogger’s collaboration I jumped at the chance to participate alongside some lovely ladies I genuinely feel a connection with. When I was told the idea was to list ten reasons why I was rocking motherhood my instant reaction was I’m going to have to pull out of this. The truth is that I can be very many things; self-deprecating, critical, sarcastic to name a few but in the last seven months (and even during my pregnancy) what I certainly haven’t believed is that I’m rocking this motherhood business.

As women who become mothers the idea of being a good mum becomes so engrained into us, as if it is a completely natural and inherent, almost genetic trait that sometimes we all forget that motherhood is also a job. It doesn’t pay well, you don’t get annual leave and a company car, there’s no set start and finish time and toilet breaks are often infrequent and seldom in private. It is a privilege but it is also a hard, hard slog at times.

I’ll be the first person to say that motherhood was about as far from my agenda as you could imagine, and when I found out I was pregnant it really terrified me. Excited me yes, but nonetheless it was scary. Finding out it was twins is still an emotion I struggle to find the words for, although when I picture the first image of that scan and look back at that moment in time I still feel the rush of wonderful feelings I did then. There will never be another moment in my life like that and whilst part of me is relieved, another part is also incredibly sad.

As Mother’s Day in the UK approaches, it’s the time to say why we love our mothers or the mother figures we have in our lives, and celebrate everything that is them. Instead of trying to cobble together 10 reasons for myself (I would have taken a long time, trust me), I invited my loved ones to offer their reasons to why I’m #RockingMotherhood. They see me doing it every minute of every day, and although I will always be worried I might not be doing a good enough job, these are all the reasons that they said I rock at it. It’s funny how people who love you can see things in you that you fail to see in yourself! Let that be a lesson to all of the children we raise! Thanks to all my nearest and dearest for these #RockingMotherhood reasons:

  1. She always does it with style and a sense of humour
  1. She’s taken all the challenges having twins has thrown at her with patience, enthusiasm and unconditional love for the girls
  1. She’s embracing every single aspect of being a mummy, the good and the challenging, and does it with honesty, humour and a whole lot of unconditional love. Her girls are lucky to have her and lucky to have the wonderful role model she’s providing them
  1. No matter what she might be feeling inside she never seems to be bothered on the outside when she’s with the girls. She’s happy to do whatever needs to be done to put a smile on their face and in turn that makes her happy. It’s like being a mum brings her genuine joy
  1. She’s a trooper. How she spend all day with the girls and doesn’t lose her mind sometimes is a mystery at the same time as keeping the house clean, the cupboards full and on top of that there are the numerous dummy runs in the night…
  1. Her organisational skills put the military to shame. You only have to look at her happy, healthy and beautiful girls to see what an amazing job she’s doing. Plus she puts me to shame about how she can function on so little sleep and run a home, family, raise two little humans and still find time to write an on-point blog and look good #parentinggoals
  1. I think she’s rocking motherhood even though she thinks she isn’t. Being organised, juggling the joys of new babies and giving the girls all the best experience she can all whilst being glamorous is exhausting with one baby, with two she is a supermum!
  1. What I see is a mother who is honesty, love and grace. There’s no pretence, no competition, no hiding. She authentically shares her love, fear, humour and the practicalities of her experiences in a down to earth way. She hasn’t lost sight of who she is in the whirlwind of nappies, sleepless nights and feeding. In fact, I’d say it’s actually made her even more connected with who she is. I don’t know what more two little girls could want in a role model.
  1. With two babies to contend with she still turns up to things more organised and prepared than everyone else put together. She still comes to any events with two babies in tow no matter how tough the situation and makes it look easy

And the last reason I saved for myself:

  1. If I never have the chance to achieve anything else in my life it won’t matter because I have already achieved everything I need to with both of you.

To ensure this love for #RockingMotherhood continues, I’ve invited some other fellow amazing mothers to carry the tag on and can’t wait to hear your reasons for why you rock. Let me introduce:

Rachel (@lifeasthree) at Lifeasthree

Eliza (@twingenuity.co) at twingenuity.co

Sarah (@powelltwins16) at twinmothership

Lauren (@lauren_levon) at alittlemorethanblessed

Konica (@thespeedymummy) at thespeedymummy

Here’s to more reasons to rock motherhood!

The Rules for the Tag

  • Thank the blogger that tagged you and link to their blog
  • List 10 things you believe make you a good mother (this is just a guideline. It can be more or less than 10. I really don’t mind)
  • Tag 3 -5 bloggers to join in the #RockingMotherhood tag
  • Grab the #RockingMotherhood badge and add it to your post or sidebar

The lovely Pat (@whitecamellias) at whitecamellias  who started this tag would love to hear your reasons so if you tweet her she will RT your reasons for you.

All the love

Fi x

2 thoughts on “#RockingMotherhood Challenge”

Leave a Reply

